Meghalaya Assembly holds first sitting of newly-formed House; Oath taken by newly-elected legislators

The Meghalaya state Assembly convened a special session on Tuesday, March 6, 2023, for the first sitting of the newly-formed House, comprising 59 members.

On Monday morning, Pro tem speaker Timothy D Shira presided over the ceremony and administered the oath of office to 59 MLAs, including 45 belonging to the NPP-led coalition that is poised to form the government under Conrad Sangma’s leadership.

The Raj Bhavan will host the swearing-in ceremony of the new council of ministers on Tuesday in the presence of several distinguished dignitaries, including Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi. The House will reconvene on March 9th for the election of the Speaker, commissioner, and secretary of the Assembly.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments