Indo-China dispute over Arunachal Pradesh

China’s new ‘standard map’ draws condemnation from India over territorial claims on Arunachal Pradesh

In a recent development, China has introduced the latest edition of its “standard map” for the year 2023. This map incorporates various disputed regions, including Arunachal Pradesh, the Aksai Chin area, Taiwan, and the contentious South China Sea.

India has consistently emphasised that Arunachal Pradesh holds an essential place within its territory and will continue to do so. The freshly released map, referred to as the 2023 edition, was formally launched on Monday and is now available on the Ministry of Natural Resources’ standard map service website.

As reported by Global Times on X (formerly Twitter), the map showcased Arunachal Pradesh, which China claims as South Tibet, along with Aksai Chin, which China occupied during the 1962 conflict.

India has consistently conveyed to China that Arunachal Pradesh is an integral and non-negotiable part of its sovereign territory. The map also includes China’s assertions over Taiwan, an island with which it seeks closer integration, aligning with the strategic goals of Chinese President Xi Jinping.

Notably, China’s territorial claims extend to Taiwan, which it considers as part of its mainland. This aspiration for integration remains a significant objective for President Xi Jinping.

It is worth mentioning that various countries, including Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia, Brunei, and Taiwan, have competing territorial claims over different areas within the South China Sea.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments