Assam extends AFSPA in four districts, lifts ‘Disturbed Area’ tag in four others

The Assam Police announced the extension of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) for an additional six months in four districts of the state, on October 1. During the Assam Police Day 2023 celebrations in Guwahati, Director General of Police (DGP) Gyanendra Pratap Singh revealed that the ‘disturbed area’ designation, which enables the enforcement of AFSPA, has been revoked in four other districts. As of today, only four districts in Assam—Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Sivasagar, and Charaideo—will remain under AFSPA.

Singh also confirmed the withdrawal of AFSPA from Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong, and Dima Hasao, effective October 1. The Assam government had previously extended the ‘disturbed area’ notification under AFSPA for an additional six months, starting from April 1, covering these eight districts.

AFSPA grants security forces the authority to conduct operations and make arrests without the need for prior warrants. It also provides immunity from arrest and prosecution to security forces in cases where they use lethal force.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments