PM Modi to attend oath-taking ceremonies of newly elected Chief Ministers in Nagaland, Tripura, Meghalaya

After an impressive victory in the recently held Assembly elections in Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to attend the swearing-in ceremonies of the newly elected Chief Ministers of the three northeastern states. As per reports, the oath-taking ceremony in Meghalaya and Nagaland will be held on March 7, while in Tripura, it will be held on March 8.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who won the Northern Angami-II seat, tendered his resignation on Saturday to the governor La Ganesan, paving the way for his fifth term as the chief minister of the state. Rio led his Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to a comfortable victory in the recently concluded assembly elections, winning 37 of the 60 seats.

Meanwhile, in Tripura, the newly elected members of the ruling BJP are set to elect the Chief Minister on Monday. Outgoing Chief Minister Manik Saha is expected to be elected as the BJP legislature party leader and Chief Minister for another term, according to party sources. The oath-taking ceremony for the new Chief Minister and council of ministers will take place on March 10, with PM Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP President J.P. Nadda in attendance.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma reportedly had a meeting with Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Sunday over the composition of the cabinet to ensure a smooth transition. Sources claimed that the Union Home Minister is likely to arrive in the state on Tuesday to finalise the cabinet. BJP national president JP Nadda and several Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states are expected to join the swearing-in ceremony.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments