Greetings and Celebrations Galore for Meghalaya, Tripura, and Manipur on their 51st Statehood Day

On January 21, the people of Manipur, Meghalaya, and Tripura celebrated the 51st Statehood Day, marking the foundation year of these three states which attained statehood under the...

On January 21, the people of Manipur, Meghalaya, and Tripura celebrated the 51st Statehood Day, marking the foundation year of these three states which attained statehood under the North Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act of 1971. As part of the celebration, numerous events and activities were held across the three states to commemorate the day and honor the rich cultural heritage of each state.

Manipur and Tripura were previously princely states that were absorbed into India in October 1949, while Meghalaya was part of Assam after independence. Despite their different histories, all three states have made significant progress and development in various sectors such as agriculture, industry, education, and health. The Statehood Day celebration serves as a reminder of the unity, diversity and the communal harmony that exists in the region.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended his greetings to the people of these three states and acknowledged the progress and growth they have made in recent years. He also praised the diverse achievements of people from Meghalaya and expressed his desire for the aspirations of people in Manipur and Tripura to be fulfilled and for the states to continue to strengthen India’s growth trajectory. Chief Minister Conrad Sangma responded to the Prime Minister’s message, thanking him for his warm greetings on Meghalaya’s Statehood Day and wishing for the state’s continuous progress in the years to come.”

Chief Minister Biren Singh attended the 51st Statehood Day celebration at the 1st MR Parade Ground on Saturday. In his address to the crowd, Singh emphasized the importance of unity and diversity in the state, and called on all citizens to work towards integration, communal harmony, and peaceful co-existence. “On this day, let us extend appreciation to one another, celebrate our unity in diversity & recall our history and work towards integration, communal harmony, and peaceful co-existence,” said Singh. The chief minister also took the opportunity to review the parade and interact with the participants. Overall, the celebration was a fitting tribute to the state’s rich cultural heritage and its people’s commitment to peace and harmony.

Meghalaya celebrated its 51st statehood anniversary at an event held in Shillong’s U Soso Tham Auditorium, with the Governor of Meghalaya as the chief guest and the Chief Secretary as the guest of honor. The Governor expressed his congratulations to the people of the state and emphasised the significance of the statehood movement, which fulfilled the political aspirations of the people of Khasi, Jaintia, and Garo Hills. He also paid tribute to the sacrifices of past leaders who fought to preserve the culture, traditions, and self-rule of the state. He acknowledged their efforts in creating a state with its own government and aspirations.

The Chief Secretary, Shri D P Wahlang congratulated all those who received Meghalaya Day Excellence Awards for their outstanding public service. He acknowledged that the creation of the state was the result of a peaceful, prolonged and united effort by the people of the state and that 21st January 1972 was a significant day for Meghalaya as it became a full-fledged state of India and the preservation of culture, language, music, food, and traditions representing tribal aspirations were recognised.

A dedicated driver for @CMO_Meghalaya who has chauffeured 8 Chief Ministers over the past 5 years,
honored with the Excellence Award on Meghalaya Day. Source: Twitter

During the program, the names of the recipients of the Meghalaya Day Awards 2023 were announced. The award for Arts and Culture went to Smti Sweetymon Rynjah, the award for Social Service went to Dr Jennifer V Basaiawmoit, and the award for Sports went to Shri Klingson D Marak.

Additionally, the Governor Police Medals for meritorious service in 2023 were also announced. The awardees for 2023 include: Additional Superintendent of Police Shabbir Sayeed Dkhar, Deputy Superintendent of Police Vincent Nengminza Sangma, UBSI Iailamlang Iongi Jyrwa, UBSI Sean Stanford Lywait, WPSI Renu D Momin, Havildar Mewan Roy Pakma, Havildar Amplias Synnah, BN/975 Alphonse Lyngdoh, and Fireman Pyarson R Marak.

Tags: , , , ,
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Copyright © 2024 The Borderlens. All rights reserved.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x